Junior A Hurlers reach City Division Final 2019   06/08/2019



                                    Brian Dillons        5-22

                                    Blackrock             1-17

Brian Dillons booked their place into the final of the Sportsturf Solutions Junior A hurling championship following a comprehensive win over Blackrock at Ballinlough last night.

The Tank Field outfit got off to a good start and when Tomas Lawrence drilled over a monstrous point in the opening minute it was followed by two consecutive white flags after just two minutes of play.

The Rockies looked to be ambushed but they should have tied the game in the fourth minute but a stunning save from Dillons keeper Declan Hourigan denied Mark Ryan a certain goal.

Gradually Blackrock got back in the game and points from Colin O’Leary and Liam O’Sullivan brought the minimum between the teams in the eight minute.

To be fair Blackrock were very much in the game up to the 25th minute but they were blitzed with consecutive Brian Dillons goals.

The first came when Cian McCarthy drilled a superb goal past the bewildered Rockies keeper and a second followed two minutes later when John Horgan flicked a slick ball to the corner of the net.

The Rockies pushed on but they looked to have a mountain to climb in the second half when they trailed 2-13 to 0-7 at the interval.

On the restart Dillons put the game to bed just four minutes into the half when captain Darragh Rodgers billowed the back of the net with a sublime strike.

James Murphy added a fourth goal a minute later but the best was kept till last when substitute Stephen Crowley drilled an unstoppable 30-yard shot to the roof of the net in the 44th minute.

No way back for the Rockies as Dillons overall class overpowered them in this semi- final.

Scorers for Brian Dillons: J Horgan 1-5 (0-1f,65), C McCarthy 1-5,J Murphy 1-1, D Rodgers 1-1, S Morrissey 1-0, R Murphy 0-3, T Lawrence 0-2, C Brosnan 0-2 (f), A Murphy, D Coughlan, K McCormack (0-1each).

                     Blackrock: D Cashman 1-4 (0-3f, pen), C O’Leary 0-4 (0-2f), L O’Sullivan 0-3, M Ryan 0-3 R Coleman 0-2, E Sheehan 0-1.     

Brian Dillons: D Hourigan; N Fahy, C Brosnan, J Noonan; D Cremin, D Brosnan, M Noonan; T Lawrence, P O’Brien; K McCormack, D Rodgers, R Murphy; J Horgan, J Murphy, C McCarthy.

Subs: A Murphy for P O’Brien (16), M White for J Noonan (inj 30), S Crowley for M White (inj 40), K Coughlan for D Rodgers (44), D Coughlan for J Horgan (52).

Blackrock: P Delaney; S Leneghan, S Long, K Buckley; D O’Brien, A Hogan, D O’Callaghan; D Tyner, R Coleman; R Dineen, C O’Leary, S O’Callaghan; B O’Leary, M Ryan, L O’Sullivan.

Subs: E Sheehan for S Long (23), D Cashman for B O’Leary (h-t), A Hegarty for K Buckley (h-t), D Healy for S O’Callaghan (50), J O’Keeffe for D Tyner (50).

Referee: Cormac Dineen (Douglas).